We have moved to our new permanent home at HighHeatStats.com!

All existing content will remain, but all new content is posted at our new location.

Pitchers winning the MVP (Congrats Justin Verlander!)

Posted by Andy
Justin Verlander has won the AL MVP for 2011, and rightfully so. He and Jose Bautista were a toss-up for the league lead in WAR (both at 8.5 and well ahead of 3rd-place Jacoby Ellsbury at 7.2).

Just as a refresher, here's quick look at the pitchers to win the league MVP award:

2011 AL Justin Verlander
1992 AL Dennis Eckersley
1986 AL Roger Clemens
1984 AL Willie Hernandez
1981 AL Rollie Fingers
1971 AL Vida Blue
1968 NL Bob Gibson
1968 AL Denny McLain
1963 NL Sandy Koufax
1956 NL Don Newcombe
1952 AL Bobby Shantz
1950 NL Jim Konstanty
1945 AL Hal Newhouser
1944 AL Hal Newhouser
1943 AL Spud Chandler
1942 NL Mort Cooper
1939 NL Bucky Walters
1936 NL Carl Hubbell
1934 NL Dizzy Dean
1933 NL Carl Hubbell
1931 AL Lefty Grove
1924 NL Dazzy Vance
1924 AL Walter Johnson
1913 AL Walter Johnson

No comments:

Post a Comment